You are here

Week 3

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

The two best players in the Premier Division last season Chris Bush and Adam Laws both suffered defeats in their latest match. Although Burymead B beat Merrow B 7-3 with Bush, Richard Tanner and Tim Goodship each winning twice Merrow’s Dan Barna claimed the prize scalp of Bush. Martin Chodounsky now with Ash A inflicted a rare defeat on Godalming A’s Laws. Godalming won the match 7-3 with Federico Vitterbo unbeaten and Laws winning his other two, Chodounsky won twice for Ash. Danielle Kelly is believed to be the youngest player to secure a maximum when her team, Godalming B, trounced the club’s C team. Kinga Oryl also won all three with Robin Honey bagging a brace.

The early pace setter in the Third Division is College Hill D. Their latest success was a 7-3 victory against Woking LTC B. All the College Hill trio, Dave Partridge, Steve Clement and Stephen Kampheson won twice. Also with a 100% record is Burymead D who added Bramley D as their latest victims in a 7-3 success. Gordon Aplin and Richard Penton were both unbeaten for Burymead. College Hill E and Aftermath E shared the points with Peter Caudrey grabbing a maximum and Peter Norman winning twice for College Hill this was matched by Aftermath’s Alan Webb.

In the First Division Godalming D possess the only perfect record after a narrow, 6-4, victory over Ash B. Fei Fei Pei won all her three for Godalming with Yawei Wang supporting with a duo. Merrow D still top the table but they had to share the spoils with Aftermath B. Trevor Sanders picked up all three for Aftermath with Shaun Newbold and Nigel Oh twice victorious for Merrow. Cody A has started the season well with the latest success being an 8-2 win over Godalming E. Both Kin Chan and Paul Shakespeare were unbeaten for Cody.

In the Fourth Division Abinger B continue unbeaten after a 7-3 success against Woking LTC D. Jim Faulkner and Keith Sutton were both unbeaten for Abinger. Godalming P and R split the points with newcomer Rob Chatwin unbeaten for the P team. Team-mate Alan Lewell chipped in with a pair and this was matched by the N team’s Aubrey Collins.