You are here

May 7th - Final report for season

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version


The Last Two Final had the drama that the KO Cups this year have generally lacked. Godalming H played Godalming J in a match played at Ash due to exams at the Centre. The H team looked very strong with James Wyncoll, Tim Boxall and Shula Laws. The J team appeared a little weaker with Alan Lewell, Michael Kam and Saj Swamy. Wyncoll got the first win on the board for the H team when he got the better of Lewell in five games. Then Kam squared the match with a decisive win over Boxall. Swamy followed for the J team by getting past Laws but the H squad hit back with wins for Boxall over Lewell and Wyncoll over Swamy. Kam continued his good form by overcoming Laws to square the match again but Boxall put the H team within one of victory with success over Swamy. Lewell then got the better of Laws to level it at 4-4. So the two unbeaten players, Wyncoll and Kam, would play the deciding set. Having shared the first two games Kam pulled away to grab the trophy for the J team and was, undoubtedly, the outstanding player

The Veteran’s Cup final was somewhat one-sided with the Burymead squad of Richard Tanner, Gordon Holmes and Phil Snelson winning 5-1 against Merrow B comprising Robin Pretty, John Callcut and Richard Seymour. Callcut beat Holmes but that was the only success for Merrow in a 5-1 defeat.

Congratulations to Godalming K for a 6-4 victory over College Hill E in the Fourth Division to seal the title with College Hill as runners-up. The three man squad of Roger Aspital, Tim Boxall and Ram Sethi have looked supreme all season and, on this occasion, it was Tim Boxall who snared the maximum. College Hill, with their squad, Peter Norman, David Reading, Colin Thompson, Paul Tanton and Paul Stock should also do well in the higher division.

Relegation in the First division has been decided with Aftermath B just staying up. A draw against Woking LTC A and a very late scoresheet from a 6-4 victory over Merrow D kept them up. In these two matches Bill Matlock shone out with five wins. Cody A and College Hill B just miss out but both will be favourites for a swift return.

All award winners are reminded that the Presentation Evening is confirmed as Friday June 7th with full details appearing on the website. The Association’s AGM is on Monday June 10th at Woking LTC.