You are here

Jan 15th

Printer-friendly versionPDF version


The Annual Handicap Tournament took place at the weekend with The Singles title being won by seasoned campaigner Brian Hartles from Woking LTC. In a very competitive day he managed to beat Margaret Thornton and Micky Lang in the knockout phase before coming up against Martin Rozario from Challoner. Despite a two division difference Hartles made a mockery of the handicaps winning by over 30 points. On the other side of the draw Simon Dickinson from Merrow won though after beating John Upham also from Merrow by a mere 4 points in the semi-final. Other Dickinson successes were  Sajiv Swamy and Adam Chew. The final was incredibly tight with Dickinson starting out with a six point lead. He extended this by a couple in the first leg but Hartles came back and clawed all the lead back with a couple of points profit. So Hartles had to get nine in the final end to win which he managed exactly to tie the scores but win the title on count back. The Consolation singles was won by James Sellen,from Aftermath, beating Ben Fereday of Ash by two points in the final.

It was a tale of another losing final for Fereday when he and Hudson Foley, the youngsters from Ash,  just lost to Premier Division stars Andy Mudie and Micky Lang from Merrow in the doubles event. A start of 26 was not enough for Fereday and Foley as they lost out by a single point.

There was yet more success for Lang and Mudie when they took the Pairs competition comfortably against Tony Morse and Peter Palmer from Bramley. In the semi-finals Mudie and Lang had just edged past Ian and Ross Saxby by a single point whilst Palmer and Morse had a far more comfortable passage against John Fairweather and Stephen Pinn.

Meanwhile in the league the last remaining unbeaten record in the Premier Division went when Godalming A beat Merrow C 6-4. Adam Laws was unbeaten for Godalming taking Andy Mudie’s 100% record. Steve Davis won twice for Godalming with Mudie winning his other two singles. Burymead B has moved back to the top after a couple of wins the most outstanding being an 8-2 win over Godalming C. Chris Bush and Matt Pernet were unbeaten for Burymead against a team that included nationally ranked players Jiri Rambousek and Michael Chan.

In the Fourth Division Godalming K moved to the top of the table after a whitewash of their N squad. Roger Aspital, Tim Boxall and Ram Sethi picked up the points. A much tighet match was between promotion contenders College Hill E and Bramley E which College Hill edged 6-4 with Paul Tanton unbeaten and Peter Norman winning twice for College Hill. Gary Nicholson won twice for Bramley.

In an Intermediate Cup quarter-final match Challoner B beat Aftermath A. Steve Collins and Crispian Knight were unbeaten for Challoner with Neil Harden edging out Maria Taylor-Woodward for Aftermath’s consolation success.