You are here

Dec 18th

Printer-friendly versionPDF version


Youngsters were to the fore in the Fourth Division particularly in Woking LTC E’s first success of the season 6-4 against Burymead E. 13 year old Jacob Chew and his 14 year old cousin Max Chew were both unbeaten for Woking. 13 year-old Juliette Moussaire recorded her second maximum for Godalming M in a 6-4 win over the Godalming N squad. Alan Truong was also unbeaten for the M team.  A crucial promotion match between College Hill E and Woking LTC D ended with honours even. Malcolm Hollett was unbeaten for Woking with Paul Tanton and Richard Johnston both bagging pairs for College Hill. Godalming K remain second after inflicting an 8-2 defeat on their L team. Tim Boxall, who looks to be better than this division, was unbeaten but Geraud Moussaire and Roger Aspital both lost out to Ben Tahouri. Bramley E were indebted to David Barraclough in their 6-4 win over Emmanuel. He was unbeaten with Bob Holmden chipping in with a duo which was matched by Clive Mattin for Emmanuel.

With Burymead B not playing Godalming B took the opportunity to nip to the top of the Premier Division courtesy of a 6-4 win over their A team. Alex Forshaw, Keith Falconer and Rory Scott all won twice but Adam Laws picked up a full house for the A team. A similar story in Merrow A’s 7-3 win over Godalming C. The full house was with Godalming’s Jiri Rambousek which left John Robinson, Mike Fisher and Jason Tendler two wins apiece. Challoner A proved too strong for Broadmoor with a 6-4 win. Trevor Spraggs, Shaun Robertson and Anthony Johnson all won twice as did Clive banham for Broadmoor.

IN the First Division Godalming D inflicted a rare defeat, 7-3, on Ash A. Christophe Pietek was unbeaten for Godalming with Kaho Cheung and Rob Shearman each winning twice. Challoner B have now completed their first half fixtures with an 8-2 defeat of Bramley A. Crispian Knight notched a full house whilst Steve Collins and Maria Taylor-Woodward each won twice. Allianz proved too strong for Aftermath A with Manoj Shah and Clayton Green grabbing all the points in a 7-3 win. Ash B won by the same amount against Cody A. Alan Gess was the undefeated hero for Ash with Martin Gilbey chipping in with a brace as did Peter Anthony for Cody. Woking LTC A’s 8-2 win over Merrow D has propelled them up the table. John Koenigsberger was undeated for Woking with Kevin Bown and Daniel Koenigsberger only succumbing to Scott Ayers.

All players are reminded that the annual handicap Tournament is being held at Christ’s College on Saturday January 12th 2013. Entry forms are available from the website where the most up to date cup draws can be found. The next round of the Handicap Cup plus any outstanding matches from the first half of the season must be completed during the four-week Christmas break.