You are here

Dec 11th

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version


It was KO Cup week and the current holders of the Percy Lawes Cup, Godalming, eased through into the semi-finals with a 5-2 victory over last season’s runners up, Burymead A. Jiri Rambousek and Adam Laws were unbeaten for Godalming. Merrow C also moved into the semi-finals with a 5-1 victory over Broadmoor. Only one result from the Intermediate Cup which was a walkover to Bramley A over Merrow D after an organisational mix up.

All four quarter-finals in the Last Two have been completed with some tight results. Ash C just lost 5-4 to Godalming J who had Michael Kam to thank for the victory as he was unbeaten. Tony Harrison and Sandy Simpson each won twice for Ash C. Ash D also lost 5-4, this to Merrow F. David Mackinnon won all his three for Ash but Ashley Barnes and Carole Ingram bagged braces for Merrow. The important game was a five-set victory for David Lush over Hudson Foley, coming back from two sets down. Godalming H also won 5-4, this against College Hill D. James Wyncoll was unbeaten for Godalming with Tim Boxall notching a duo for the winners. Lesley Clement won twice for College Hill. Challoner C easily won their quarter-final easing past Cody B 5-1. Jason Gee and Tom Taylor-Woodward being unbeaten for Challoner.

Meanwhile in the Premier Division Godalming B moved into second spot after an 8-2 success over Challoner A. Alex Forshaw and Rambousek were hattrick heroes for Godalming. Merrow C convincingly got the better of College Hill A 9-1. Andy Mudie and Robin Pretty registered trios with Micky Lang winning twice.

Challoner B cemented their place at the top of the First Division by whitewashing Aftermath A. Crispian Knight, Steve Collins and Maria Taylor-Woodward picked up the wins in a match that was much tighter than the score suggests.

Bramley B and Godalming F shared the points in the only match in the Second Division. Gordon Grover was, yet again, unbeaten for Godalming with Danny McGranaghan winning twice for Godalming as did Joe Melchionno for Bramley.

Woking LTC E caught up their fixtures in the Fourth Division but got thrashed by their D team, 9-1 and Godalming K 10-0. Godalming’s points were earned by Roger Aspital, Tim Boxall and Ram Sethi. In the all Woking clash Mervyn Newell and Malcolm Hollett were unbeaten with Alex Bolychevsky only losing to Sue Holder.