You are here

Nov 6th

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

The Second Division appears as it is going to be the tightest of the league but Bramley C and Godalming F maintained their unbeaten starts to the campaign by sharing the points. Geoff Nevitt was unbeaten for Bramley with John Diggens grabbing a pair as did Danny McGranaghan for Godalming. Merrow E stay at the top after a 6-4 win over Burymead D. Jack Harrington was unbeaten for Burymead whilst Paul Farrant and Simon Dickinson each won twice for Merrow. Godalming E moved up the table after a 9-1 thrashing of Bramley B. Pavlina Polakova and Mike May were undefeated whilst Jason Minoo only lost to Joe Melchionno.

Mixed fortunes for the two Ash teams in the First Division. The B team recorded their first success against Woking LTC A with Martin Gilbey undefeated and Ian Saxby notching a pair. John Koenigsberger won twice for Woking.  Meanwhile the A team lost their unbeaten record with a defeat, 6-4, against Allianz. Clayton Green, Manoj Shah and Vijay Bhaskar all won twice for Allianz whilst Alan Gess did likewise for Ash. This allowed Challoner B to close the gap at the top which they did with an 8-2 win over College Hill B. Crispian Knight and Steve Collins each grabbed trios.

In the Fourth Divison Bramley E moved back to the top of the table after a 6-4 win over Cranleigh B. Bob Holmden and Gary Nicholson each won twice for Bramley but none could get the better of Chris Ray who was unbeaten for Cranleigh. Emmanuel and two-man Godalming K shared the points with Godalming’s Tim Boxall undefeated. Burymead E edged past Godalming M 6-4. Simon Parris bagged a full house whilst Mike Dray secured a pair for Burymead. John Fairweather won twice for Godalming. Bramley F whitewashed Godalming N. Mike Smith, Pam Wells and Mark Wells were the winning trio.

Woking LTC C in the Third Division remain the only unbeaten team in the division with their latest success a resounding 8-2 win over Ash D. Brian Hartles was unbeaten for Woking with Mike Glen and Mike Frean each winning twice apiece but both succumbing to David Mackinnon. Ash C picked up their first win of the season with a 7-3 success over Godalming H. Tony Harrison won all his three with Margaret Thornton getting a pair as did Helen Ross for Godalming. College Hill D got the better of Cody B 7-3. Derek Hubbard was unbeaten with Steve Clement winning twice for the outfit from Brook. Ken Thompson won twice for Cody. Godalming G edged out Abinger 6-4 with Brendan Bayley for Abinger unbeaten. Paul Rumble, Hugh McKee and James Wyncoll each won twice for Godalming.

The table in the Premier Division is beginning to take shape with champions Burymead B again to the fore. Their most recent victory was 9-1 against their unfortunate A squad whose only point was secured in the doubles. Richard Tanner, Chris Bush and Matt Pernet picked up the singles points. Broadmoor took on a powerful Godalming A team with just two players so will be content with a 7-3 loss. Adam Laws won his two matches for Godalming with Clive Banham winning twice for Broadmoor including the scalp of Alain Choo-Choy. Merrow B eased into third spot with a whitewash of Godalming C. John Callcut, Gary Bonner and Richard Seymour netted the points for Merrow. Merrow C remain the only unbeaten team in the division and just kept that record with a draw against Godalming B. Andy Mudie maintained his excellent form with a full house for Merrow whilst Keith Falconer and Rory Scott each bagged braces for Godalming.