You are here

Oct 23rd

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

In the Third Division Godalming G inflicted the first defeat on Merrow F, 8-2. James Wyncoll picked up a maximum whilst Paul Rumble and Hugh McKee bagged a pair apiece. The win puts Godalming top of the division. Ash C and D shared the points with Sandy Simpson, representing the C team, unbeaten. David Mackinnon and 15 year-old Ben Fereday each won twice for the D team. Cody B picked up a good win, 7-3, against Godalming H. Bob Fenner won all three with Ken Thompson securing a duo for Cody. David Livingstone won twice for Godalming. College Hill D edged past Aftermath E 6-4 with Lesley Clement and Harshal Galgale winning twice apiece for College Hill as did Richard Tapp and Ian Deswarte for Aftermath.

In the Second Division Cranleigh A recorded their first win, 8-2, against Burymead D. Mark Lockyer was the hattrick hero whilst peter and Angela Coventry only lost to Jack Harrington. Godalming E inflicted the first defeat on Merrow E, 6-4. Pavlina Polakova was unbeaten for Godalming with Ce Guo winning twice for Merrow. Bramley C has shrugged off it’s relegation emphasing their strength in this division with a 9-1 thrashing of Aftermath D. Geoff Nevitt and Kerry East were unbeaten whilst Kim Farminer only lost out to John Setterfield. Godalming F kept up their good start with a 6-4 win over two-man Bramley D. Gordon Grover was unbeaten for Godalming with Steve Cheeseman winning twice for Bramley

In the First Division Cody A won for the first time, 7-3 against Allianz. Clayton Green won all his three for Allianz whilst Paul Mission, Peter Anthony and Paul Shakespeare each won twice for Cody. Bramley A just squeezed past College Hill B 6-4. Tony Morse won all his three whilst Peter Palmer won twice. Martin Sharp picked up a duo for College Hill. Ash A continued their good start with a 7-3 win over Merrow D. Rod Kay was unbeaten whilst Paul Myers and George Earle won twice apiece both losing to Scott Ayers.

Surprisingly Burymead A, in the Premier Division, only picked up their first win at the fourth time of asking. It was, however, a whitewash of their C team which propels them up the table. Phil Snelson, Ramesh Bhalla and Gordon Holmes were the winning trio. Merrow A suffered their first defeat, at the hands of Godalming B, 7-3. Alex Forshaw and Rory Scott were unbeaten for Godalming. Godalming A and Merrow B shared the points with Adam Laws unbeaten for Godalming. Richard Seymour and Garry Bonner won twice apiece for Merrow. College Hill A won again, 6-4 against Broadmoor. No player unbeaten in this match. Duos for Jorge Dominguez and Phil Harrison for College Hill whilst Dave Phelps and Clive Banham managed similar results.

There are some powerful teams at the top of the Fourth Division. Woking LTC D just edged out a strong Emmanuel outfit 6-4. Mervyn Newell and Malcolm Hollett won twice apiece for Woking but Clive Mattin won the plaudits for Emmanuel with a full house. Bramley E whitewashed Godalming N. Bob Holmden, Greg Rowe and David Barraclough providing the points.College Hill E also won well, 9-1, against Woking LTC E. Peter Norman and David Reading being unbeaten and Colin Thompson only succumbing to Max Chew. Godalming L also look strong. A 6-4 success over Bramley F placing them just behind the top teams. Ben Tahouri was unbeaten for Godalming whilst Richard Naylor won twice as did Mark Wells for Bramley.