You are here

Oct 9th

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

Abinger is setting the early pace in the Third division. Their third straight win of the season, 7-3, against Ash C , leaves them the only 100% outfit in the division. Brendan Bayley maintained his unbeaten record whilst Keith Sutton notched a duo. Merrow F look strong contenders and an 8-2 win over Godalming H demonstrates their intentions. David Lush was unbeaten whilst Carole Ingram and Mark Francis bagged braces. Woking LTC C has also started well and a 6-4 success over Godalming G their latest result. Brian Hartles picked up a full house for Woking whilst Hugh McKee and James Wyncoll won twice apiece for Godalming. Godalming J picked up another good win,7-3,  this against Challoner C. Michael Kam picked up a hattrick whilst Saj Swamy won twice. Cody B will be content with a 6-4 defeat of Aftermath E. Stuart Stone, Mick Strode and Ken Thompson all won pairs for Cody which Richard Tapp also managed for the losers.

In the Premier Division there was an outstanding match between Godalming A and Burymead B with three players in the national top 100 featuring.  Godalming won 6-4 but none of their players could better Chris Bush. Alain Choo-Choy and Adam Laws both won twice for Godalming. Burymead A and Merrow C shared the points with Andy Mudie unbeaten for Merrow. Phil Snelson and Derek Holman each won twice for Burymead. Broadmoor and Burymead C also shared the spoils with Clive Banham unbeaten for Broadmoor. Richard Parke won twice for Burymead. College Hill A edged to a victory against Godalming C. Jorge Dominguez won thrice whilst Graham Nutting chipped in with a pair for the winning team. Feifei Pei won twice for Godalming. Merrow A just beat their B team 6-4. Jason tendler and John Robinson won all their singles for the A team.

Ash A lead the First Division table after a convincing 7-3 win over College Hill B. Paul Myers and Ian Saxby recorded full houses for the victors. Merrow D showed they will be a force in the division by overcoming Cody A 7-3. Shaun Newbold was unbeaten for Merrow with Scott Ayers winning twice as did Paul Shakespeare for Cody. Aftermath A’s  trio Simon Turner, Albert Cheung and Steve Pearce all bagged braces in their 7-3 win over Woking LTC A. None could, however, get the better of John Koenigsberger.  Bramley A easily beat Aftermath B 9-1. Peter Palmer and Nick Gould enjoyed perfect records whilst Ron Stracey only lost out to Bill Matlock. Godalming D eased to a 6-4 win over Allianz. Robert Shearman was unbeaten for Godalming whilst Yawei Wang won twice for Godalming as did Clayton Green for Allianz.

Woking LTC D has started powerfully in the Fourth Division. Their 100% start was maintained with a 7-3 defeat of Godalming K. All three Woking players, Malcolm Hollett, Mervyn Newell and Alex Bolychevsky won twice but none of them could overcome Tim Boxall. Bramley F also came up against an unbeaten Godalming player when they played the M team. John Fairweather won all the points for Godalming with Mike Smith, Pam Wells and Mark Wells each winning twice in a 7-3 success. Emmanuel trounced Cranleigh B 9-1 with Clive Mattin and Keith Brown unbeaten and Stephen Schofield only succumbing to Chris Ray. Godalming N had a good win over Woking LTC E, 8-2. Joseph Lambert won a trio for Godalming whilst Aubrey Collins and Leslie Braby each bagged braces.