You are here

April 20th

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

Bramley D, in the Second Division, looked likely to post the amazing statistic of having been unable to secure a victory all season and yet avoid relegation. That changed when they got the better of Challoner C 7-3 with Steve Cheeseman unbeaten and John Diggens grabbing a pair. Jason Gee won twice for Challoner. This result relegates both Challoner C and Aftermath D. It has been a bitter/sweet week for Ash B at the top of the table. On Tuesday they secured the title with a whitewash of Bramley C, Martin Gilbey, Alan Gess and Mike Levey comprising the winning trio and then, on Wednesday, they lost their unbeaten record to Allianz, 6-4. Clayton Green, for Allianz, was unbeaten with Manoj Shah grabbing a brace as did Levey for Ash. Meanwhile Woking LTC B were overcoming Merrow F 9-1 with John Koenigsberger and Brian Hartles unbeaten and Daniel Koenigsberger winning a duo. For Woking to secure second spot they need 14 more points from their final two games one of which is against Ash B.

An amazing week in the Fourth Division. Godalming L were deducted three points for fielding an ineligible player so that put them back in the promotion race but they shrugged it aside by beating their main rival for promotion, Cody B, 9-1. Saj Swamy and Alan Lewell won three apiece with Mike Kam only losing out to Stuart Stone. That gives Godalming L second spot as Godalming H beat Emmanuel TTC to get the champions position. Clive Mattin was unbeaten for Emmanuel with Anthony Lewis and Helen Ross bagging braces for Godalming H.

In the First Division Godalming C confirmed their championship with a whitewash of Bramley A. The victorious trio of Tony Harrild, Feifei Pei and Alan Hoyle fully deserve the title having lost just once all season. Second spot is effectively Burymead C’s as their lead is so massive over the other mathematical contender, Ash A. At the bottom Woking LTC A’s relegation was confirmed after Cody A defeated College Hill B, 6-4. Peter Anthony and Paul Shakespeare both won twice for Cody as did Adrian Sharp and Paul Creamer for College Hill.

The runners-up spot in the Premier Division has been grabbed by Burymead A after they drew with the only other contender, Merrow B. Phil Snelson recorded a full house whilst Derek Holman won twice for Burymead. Graham Faulkner got two for Merrow.

In the Third Division College Hill D are relegated as the result of an 8-2 defeat against Merrow G. Trevor Free was unbeaten for Merrow with Mark Francis and Carole Ingram winning twice apiece but neither able to get the better of Paul Tanton. At the other end of the table Aftermath E will be very disappointed with the draw against Woking LTC C. Dave Thomas was unbeaten for Aftermath but duos from Brian Hartles and Mike Glen plus a tight double win meant they shared the points. Meanwhile Cranleigh A was overcoming College Hill E 9-1 with Peter and Angela Coventry unbeaten and Mark Lockyer bagging a brace. This places Cranleigh A as firm favourites to grab second spot.

A couple of dates for the diary. The Presentation Evening will be at the normal venue, the Corporation Club, on Friday 8th June and the Association’s AGM on Monday June 11th at Woking LTC.