You are here

March 23rd

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

The second knock-out final has been completed with Allianz easily overcoming Merrow F in the Lewis Cup. Steve Simnett started against Paul Farrant with a win and that placed Allianz firmly in the driving seat. With Manoj Shah beating Scott Gotham and Simon Dickinson succumbing to Clayton Green Allianz had a 3-0 lead. They eventually won 5-1 with Merrow’s only success being Dickinson against Simnett. The cup is justly deserved as it appears likely that they will just miss out on promotion.

The semi-finals of the Handicap Cup have been completed with Ash B just getting past their A team 5-4 coming back from 4-2 down. Nobody in the match was undefeated with Martin Gilbey and Mike Levey getting braces for the B team and Paul Myers and George Carder also winning twice apiece, this for the A team. Ash B’s opponents in the final will be Cody B who proved too strong for a mixed Bramley team. Cody won 5-2 although Bramley had been 2-1 ahead. Stuart Stone won his two matches for Cody and Jock Docherty also won twice although he lost to Mike Willimott. Ken Thompson won the other point for Cody.

Godalming H, in the Fourth Division, took a massive step to promotion with a 7-3 victory over Cody B. David Livingstone was unbeaten with Shula Laws and Mike Kam each grabbing a brace apiece. To their credit Cody maintained their 100% doubles record. It now looks as if the title is out of reach for Cody. Emmanuel TTC had another good win, 9-1, against Godalming K. Clive Mattin and Stephen Schofield were unbeaten with Keith brown notching a double. Given their recent form Emmanuel could be a force to be reckoned with next season. Similar comments could be made of Woking LTC D who got the better of Godalming M 8-2. Malcolm Hollett was unbeaten with Sue Holder and Mervyn Newell both only succumbing to Ben Tahouri.

In the First Division Cody A have probably banished any lingering relegation worries after a 7-3 win at Woking LTC A. All the Cody players, Peter Anthony, Paul Shakespeare and Paul Mission won twice as did John Koenigsberger for Woking who are manfully trying to complete their fixtures. A lot of interest in this division is the mid-table jostling and College Hill B will be content with their 6-4 victory over Aftermath B. Martin Sharp was unbeaten for College Hill but Frank Roberts and Bill Matlock each won twice for Aftermath.

In the Second Division appear certainties to move up a division. Their dominance of the division demonstrated by a whitewash of fourth placed Aftermath C. Alan Gess, Ian Saxby and Martin Gilbey will be hoping, along with captain Mike Levey, to statistically secure promotion in the next couple of weeks. At the other end of the table Challoner C suffered a 7-3 defeat at the hands of College Hill C which keeps them on the foot of the table. John Bounds was unbeaten for College Hill with Jim Clement notching a brace. Aftermath D are also in dire straits and a 6-4 defeat against Godalming E will not have helped their cause. David Harden won twice for Aftermath as did Jason Minoo and Julien Rousseau for Godalming.