You are here

March 30th

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

The Premier Division title has been secured, yet again, by Burymead B. By beating Burymead A 9-1 they established their credentials. Richard Tanner and Michael Hill were unbeaten in the match with Chris Bush bagging a pair. Matt Pernet completes the champion’s squad. Merrow D’s slim hope of survival has been reduced even more by being whitewashed by their B team. John Callcut, making his seasonal debut for the B team, was joined by Richard Seymour and Graham Faulkner in this match. Challoner B also suffered at the hands of their own clubmates losing 6-4. Rob Lemon picked up a full house for the A team with Peter Millard netting a pair. Maria Taylor-Woodward won twice for the B team.

Godalming F will be playing their table tennis in a higher division after securing promotion from the Third Division. An 8-2 win over Cranleigh A pushed them over the line. They have easily been the best team in the division and have a regular side of Danny McGranaghan, Gordon Grover and Fred Florance. They are just a point away from the title which will surely arrive next week. Who is to accompany them is less clear after Aftermath E surprisingly lost to College Hill E, 7-3. Derek Hubbard was unbeaten for College Hill with Steve Clement winning a pair as did Jim Roberts for Aftermath. College Hill D, despite having just two players, got the better of Godalming G. Paul Tanton was unbeaten with Peter Caudrey winning twice. Unfortunately for College Hill is probably too late to stop them falling back into the division below.

Bramley B, in the First Division, has not enjoyed this season and appear to be doomed to relegation but they do have another victory on their record. An 8-2 success against fellow relegation favourites, Woking LTC A, is a welcome boost to their confidence. Geoff Nevitt and Kerry East both recorded trios. Godalming D confirmed their place in the division for next season with a 6-4 defeat of Cody A. Yawei Wang was unbeaten for Godalming with Carsten Horne bagging a brace as did Kin Chan for Cody.

The most interesting promotion battle is in the Fourth Division. Leaders Godalming H remain in top spot after a 6-4 win over two-man Cranleigh B. Chris Ray was unbeaten for Cranleigh. Godalming L beat Bramley F 9-1 to keep just behind. Alan Lewell and Saj Swamy each picked up maximums for Godalming with Mike Kam winning twice. Cody B was helped in their promotion quest by encountering a two player Woking LTC D outfit. Norrie Short and Ken Thompson were unbeaten for Cody in a 7-3 win which saw Cody lose their unbeaten doubles record.

As the season runs down several awards need to be decided including the Sports Person of the Year Award and the John Oakley Trophy which is awarded for outstanding contribution to the Association. Nominations have be sent in this weekend to the Association’s secretary for a decision next week. Any outstanding trophies need to be returned to Fred Florance, the Trophy Steward.