You are here

March 16th

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

The Annual Closed Tournament produced a new winner of the Open Singles in the shape of Chris Bush from Burymead . He managed to get the better of Andy Mudie who plays for Merrow  in the final. There was some consolation for Mudie as he partnered Micky Lang to the Open Doubles title defeating Robin Honey and Martin Rozario in the final.

The Ladies Singles title was won, for the first time, by Sarah Horsnell from Godalming with Fei Fei Pei the runner-up. Pei is also from the Challoner club. Not surprisingly Horsnell and Pei teamed up to take the Ladies Doubles title from Carole Ingram and Margaret Thornton. The Mixed Doubles was taken by Pei and Bush with league newcomers Pavlina Sanalla and Manoj Shah taking second spot.

Not content to show his skills with the modern bat Bush won the Hardbat Singles title from previous winner Michael Hill.

The Veterans and Divisional events are played on the Saturday and Matt Pernet retained his Veteran’s Singles title beating John Robinson in the Final. The Vet Doubles was won by Lang and Phil Snelson beating Steve Collins and Maria Taylor-Woodward in the final. Taylor-Woodward went home with the Vet Ladies title beating Thornton in the final. The Vet Ladies Doubles was won by Jackie Rice and Sheila Pretty who did well to beat Taylor-Woodward and Thornton in the Final.

The Junior events were a disappointment with several categories not competed for due to a lack of entrants but the Junior Boys winner was Dominic Carpenter with newcomer Anthony Lewis the runner-up. The Under 13 title was taken by George Helling with Juliette Moussare, from the coaching scheme, in the runner-up slot. The U11 Boys title was taken by Adit Gandi getting the better of Alex Goulden in the final.

Other Winners : Masters Singles – John Robinson, Premier Div Singles – Phil Snelson, Premier Div Doubles – Snelson & Robin Pretty, First Div Singles – Scott Ayers, First Div Doubles – Nick Gould and Peter Palmer, Second Div Singles – Clayton Green,Second Div Doubles – Green and Manoj Shah, Third Div Singles – Danny McGranaghan, Fourth Div Singles – Ben Tahouri, Consolation Singles – Green, Consolation Doubles – Shah & Green, U11/13 Doubles – George Helling & Nikit Swamy