You are here

February 17th

Printer-friendly versionPDF version
The finalists for the Percy Lawes Cup have been determined in two very different semi-finals. Burymead A annihilated Challoner A 5-1 with Phil Snelson and Derek Holman unbeaten, By contrast the other semi-final between Godalming A and Merrow B went the distance. Godalming swept into a 4-1 lead after couples from Adam Laws and Ben Larcombe but then saw that lead disappear to set up a thrilling finale between Laws and Richard Seymour. Laws made short work of his task and eased Godalming into the final. Graham Faulkner won twice for Merrow.
Ash A convincingly won their Intermediate semi-final against Cody A. Paul Myers and John Taylor being unbeaten.
The semi-finals of the Handicap Cup have been decided with Cody B from the Fourth Division proving too strong for Premier division outfit Broadmoor. Ken Thompson was unbeaten for Cody with Mick Strode and Jock Docherty winning twice apiece. They will meet Bramley E who amanged to overcome Merrow G 5-3. David Barraclough was unbeaten for Bramley with Ashley Barnes notching a brace for Merrow. The bottom half of the draw has produced an all Ash semi-final. The B team got the better of Allianz 5-2 with Mike Levey unbeaten. Martin Gilbey also won twice with Clayton Green winning his two matches for Allianz. The tightest match was Ash a’s win over Cody A. Paul Myers won the ninth game to win the match. Paul Mission won all his three for Cody with Myers and George Earle recording duos for Ash.