You are here

October 7th

Printer-friendly versionPDF version
Ash D maintained their perfect start to the season in Division Three by defeating previously unbeaten Abinger 8-2. David Mackinnon was the star performer with a full house whilst Sheila Pretty and Jackie Rice both lost out to Brendan Bayley. Aftermath E are level with Ash as a result of a 9-1 thrashing of Bramley E. John Setterfield and Alan Sherwin were unbeaten whilst Jim Roberts chipped in with a brace. Godalming F have settled into third with their latest success being 8-2 against College Hill D. Danny Mcgranaghan and Gordon Grover were unbeaten for Godalming with Fred Florance picking up a duo. Cranleigh A maintained their unbeaten record witha draw against Woking LTC C. Cranleigh only had two players with Angela Coventry unbeaten and husband Peter winning twice. Brian Hartles won the only singles point for Woking. College Hill E notched their first win with a 7-3 beating of Godalming G. Derek Hubbard was unbeaten for College Hill with Steve and Lesley Clement each winning twice.
In the Fourth Division Godalming H continued their unbeaten path with an 8-2 success over Their K team, Shula Laws and David Livingstone being unbeaten for The H side. Godalming L notched their first win with a narrow 6-4 success against their J team. Alan Lewell was unbeaten for the L team with John Upham and Tony Laws each winning twice for the J outfit. Cranleigh B eased past Woking LTC D 6-4. Chris Ray picked up a full house with John Davies managing a pair, this being matched by Malcolm Hollett for Woking.
Congratulations to College Hill A in the Premier Division who picked up an excellent 8-2 win at Godalming A. Jordi Dominguez notched a trio for College Hill and Phil Harrison and Graham Nutting each won twice with both being beaten by Robin Honey. At the top it may already be over as Burymead B whitewashed Challoner A. Matt Pernet, Richard Tanner and Chris Bush getting all the points. Burymead A are trying to stay with them thanks to a 9-1 defeat of Merrow D. Phil Snelson and Gordon Holmes each picked up a full house whilst Ramesh Bhalla only lost out to Chris Hazlehurst.
Burymead C, in the First Division, appear determined to get back into the top flight. A 6-4 success against likely promotion contenders Aftermath A was built on an unbeaten performance from Joel Clancy. Simon Turner picked up a brace for Aftermath. Merrow E won for the first time with a 7-3 win over Bramley B. Scott Ayers was the star performer on the night with a trio whilst Shaun Newbold and Keith Cunningham each managed duos. Godalming D picked up a very creditable win over College Hill B, 6-4. Carsten Horne was a hattick hero for Godalming with Yawei Wang notching a pair as did Andy Clegg for College Hill. Ash A and Godalming C both lost their 100% records after a draw. Terry Osbourne, for Ash, was unbeaten whilst Alan Hoyle and Feifei Pei each won twice for Godalming. Bramley A has eased into second spot after a comprehensive defeat of Cody A, 8-2. Ron Stracey and Nick Gould were unbeaten with Tony Morse winning twice.
The Second Division looks as if it has some very strong outfilts. Woking LTC B whitewashed Aftermath D to stay top. John Koenigsberger, Ahmad Matoorian and Owen Poelijoe providing the points. Ash B are sitting on their shoulders after a 9-1 win at Bramley D. Ian Saxby and Alan Gess were unbeaten with Mike Levey only losing out to Steve Cheeseman. College Hill C managed their first win with a narrow 6-4 defeat of Godalming E. Jim Clement won all his matches whilst Mike May won twice for Godalming.